Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates > >

Quick Links

Wesley Students Present Research at UMBC Symposium

Posted November 2nd, 2018 at 8:05am

Pictured Left to Right: Jean-Francois (Biology), Deputy (Biology), Mahmoud (Biological Chemistry), Dr. Shuman, Lankford (Biology), Wirick (Biological Chemistry), Lonski (Biological Chemistry), Roe (Biology), Neff (Biological Chemistry), and Uyebi (Biology).

Nine Wesley College Cannon Scholars presented posters on at the 21st Undergraduate Research Symposium in the Chemical and Biological Sciences at the University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC) campus on October 20.

The research symposium is open exclusively to undergraduate students to showcase research in the fields of biology, chemistry, and biological chemistry. This year’s event showcased more than 270 poster presentations. Wesley’s students presented research supported by the Delaware-IDeA Networks of Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE) program, the Delaware-Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) programs and the NASA Delaware Space Grant program.

Lily Neff and Omasan Uyebi presented research co-mentored by Dr. Kelly Ann Miller, assistant professor of biology, and Dr. Kevin E. Shuman, assistant director of STEM initiatives. Research presented by Christina Roe was mentored by Dr. Miller, and research presented by Austin Lonski was mentored by Dr. Shuman.

Kylea Lankford and Jeremy Wirick presented research mentored by Dr. Malcolm J. D’Souza, professor of chemistry and dean of interdisciplinary/collaborative sponsored research.

Amanda Deputy presented her INBRE summer research completed under the mentorship of Dr. Thomas A. Buckley at the University of Delaware.
Alexander Jean-Francois presented his INBRE summer research completed under the mentorship of Melanie Chichester, BSN, RNC-OB, CPLC at Christiana Care Health System Value Institute.

Osama Mahmoud presented his INBRE summer research completed under the mentorship of Dr. Fady Gerges at Green Clinics Laboratory.

Wesley College acknowledges support from an IDeA award from an NIH-NIGMS IDeA award (INBRE grant no. P20GM103446, DE-INBRE program), an NSF-EPSCoR award (Grant No. OIA – 1757353), an NSF (DUE) S-STEM grant 1355554 (Cannon Scholar program), the NASA Delaware Space Grant Consortium grant program (NNX15AI19H), and the State of Delaware.