Quick Links

Wesley Selects Spring 2018 Cannon Scholar Recipients

Posted January 22nd, 2018 at 2:55pm

Pictured (left to right) front row: Deputy, Hall, Rodriguez, Lankford, Roe, Neff, and Veeria Second Row: Fry, Holland, Feld, Neel, Bland, and Brockwell Third Row: Piper, Toseef, Calcutta, Hubert, Cummings, and Uyebi Fourth Row: Lonski, Pendergast, Wirick, Brown, and Jean-Francois Back Row: Mahmoud, Dina, Brandenburg, and Henry.

Twenty-nine Wesley College students have been selected for the Cannon Scholar Program, a S-STEM program established to help recruit and retain academically-talented students in biological chemistry, biology, environmental science and mathematics.

Wesley College was awarded a grant (Award Id: 1355554) of $600,000 in 2014 to be spent over the course of five years from the National Science Foundation (NSF) in order to support the scholarships in science, technology, engineering and math (S-STEM) programs. Through the STEM grant programs, Wesley awarded $50,665 to deserving students for the upcoming semester.

Of the 29 recipients selected for the Cannon Scholars Program, 21 are Cannon Scholar Recipients, three are INBRE Scholars and five are EPSCoR Scholars. The breakdown of the $50,665 awarded is $39,528 are Cannon Scholars, $4,577 are INBRE scholars and $6,560 are EPSCoR scholars.

“This grant opportunity has allowed students to not only gain knowledge in the classroom, but apply this knowledge in their research studies and internships, at national conferences, and well into their future,” said Professor of Chemistry and Associate Dean of Interdisciplinary/Collaborative Sponsored Research, Dr. Malcolm D’Souza. “The future looks bright in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) because of grant opportunities like these that have prepared our students for real-world experiences outside the classroom.”

This program seeks to increase the number of underrepresented, financially disadvantaged, academically-talented students graduating from Wesley with bachelor degrees in the four STEM areas. In addition, the Cannon Scholars Program aims at strengthening these students’ preparation for and interest in pursuing a future graduate or professional program thereby increasing the numbers of well-educated and skilled employees in technical areas of regional and national need.

To receive an annual scholarship, students must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents, exhibit academic potential or ability, demonstrate financial need and be a full-time STEM major. To maintain this scholarship, students must uphold a high GPA and remain a full-time STEM major.

Recipients of the scholarship will be involved in a living-learning community, mentoring groups, workshops, peer-tutoring and various co-curricular activities. Each Scholar is required to present a study plan during monthly meetings with Dr. Kevin Shuman, the Assistant Director of STEM Initiatives. The Cannon Scholars Program will also help these students find paying positions on campus and encourage their participation in Wesley’s undergraduate research programs.

Wesley will offer Scholars one-on-one counseling, assessment and review sessions for job readiness, interview skills and résumé writing. In addition to financially supporting students, this program aims to help foster a community that equips students with the skills and credentials required to move forward toward a thriving STEM career.

Students selected include: Khadijah T. Bland from Waldorf, MD; Edward A. Brandenburg from Hartland, WI; Jordan B. Brockwell from Dover, DE; Alena Brown from Clayton, NJ; Anthony Calcutta from Frostburg, MD; Aleya Cummings from Dover, Del; Amanda Deputy from New Castle, Del; Matthew Dina from Bear, Del; Jayson L. Feld from Dagsboro, DE; Katelynn Fry from Newark, Del; Sydney P. Hall from Smyrna, DE; Teric A. Henry from Seaford, DE; Alexis Holland from Laurel, Del; Christina Hubert from Dover, Del; Alexander Jean-Francois from Silver Spring, MD; Kylea L. Lankford from Fayetteville, NC; Austin Lonski from Felton, Del; Osama Mahmoud from Dover, Del; Alexis N. Moore from Claymont, DE; Julianna K. Neel from Westmont, NJ; Lily Neff from Elkridge, MD; Austin Pendergast from Wilton, NY; Rachel Piper from Delmar, Del; Kassandra Rodriguez from Dover, DE; Christina Roe from Edison, NJ; Momina Toseef from Dover, DE; Omasan S. Uyebi from Laurel, MD; Josephine Veeria from Smyrna, Del; Jeremy Wirick from Felton, Del.