Quick Links

Wesley Hosts the 10th Annual Delaware Space Grant Research Symposium

Posted April 14th, 2016 at 2:46pm

Wesley students and staff pictured at the Delaware Space Grant Consortium (DESGC) Annual Research SymposiumWesley College hosted the Delaware Space Grant Consortium (DESGC) Annual Research Symposium on Friday, April 8. The event, attended by more than 50 people, provided an opportunity to showcase research work by Delaware students supported with funding from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA).  Wesley students as well as students from University of Delaware and Delaware State University presented their research results via poster and oral presentation.

Wesley College Professor of Chemistry and Associate Dean of Interdisciplinary/Collaborative Sponsored Research Dr. Malcolm D’Souza hosted the program that featured several professors and a few students discussing their research. Two Wesley professors spoke during the event; Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies Dr. Stephanie Stotts and Professor of Mathematics Dr. Derald Wentzien. Two Wesley students, mathematics major Riza Bautista and biological chemistry major Dionne Williams were recognized for their research with certificates.

“We were thrilled to host the event and collaborate with other institutions of higher education to support undergraduate research,” said D’Souza.

The Research Symposium is one of numerous activities sponsored by the DESGC, of which the University of Delaware is the lead institution. In Delaware, the Consortium includes the following academic affiliates:  Wesley, UD, DSU, Wilmington University and all four campuses of Delaware Technical Community College.

Financial support was provided through the NASA DESGC (Delaware Space Grant College) program funded by the National Aeronautical and Space Administration under grant number NNX15AI19H.

Pictured left to right (back row): Dionne Williams, Dr. Frank Fiedler, Brooke Thompson, Professor Alex Cisar, Dr. Malcolm D’Souza, Dr. William Kroen, John Dougherty, STEM Post-Doctoral Fellow, Dr. Kevin Shuman, and Vincent Wu. Front row (L-R): Christina Hubert, Lihoshimar Gonzalez, and Grants Administrator, Emily Wood. For more photos of the event visit Wesley’s flickr page.