Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates > >

Quick Links

Wesley College Earns Recognition at National American Chemical Society Meeting

Posted April 5th, 2012 at 2:42pm

Career Fair & Poster SessionsThe 243rd National American Chemical Society (ACS) Meeting was held in San Diego, CA, on March 24-29. At this conference there were 16,119 attendees and more than 11,700 scientific presentations were made. Pictured left to right: MaryAnn Yaeger (Lab-Manager of the Science Department), Melissa Earley (math major), Gabriel Fernandez-Bueno (biological chemistry major), Olivia Hampton (biology major), Kyle Gillespie (biological chemistry major), Dr. Malcolm J. D’Souza (Professor of Chemistry), Aaron Givens (biological chemistry major), Brett Sansbury (biological chemistry major), Ashley Harmon (biology major), and Annie O’Connor (biology major), presented nine posters at this meeting. All students completed undergraduate research projects in chemistry and were mentored by Dr. Malcolm J. D’Souza, Professor of Chemistry. Aaron Givens was co-mentored by Dr. Qiquan Wang, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, Delaware State University. Melissa Earley was co-mentored by Dr. Natalia Roberts, Assistant Professor, Department of Computer and Information Sciences, University of Delaware.

Prior to the conference, the ACS first selected and announced 650 presentations as being “note-worthy” and these were showcased at a special Sci-Mix event that was held on the evening of March 25 at the San Diego Convention Center. These posters represent the best science and presentations that the society has to offer. Three Wesley College posters (Earley, Givens, and the one presented by Yaegar and Dr. D’Souza) were in this mix that was highlighted. Additionally, six posters presented by Fernandez-Bueno, Givens, Hampton, Harmon, O’Connor, and Sansbury earned “Certificates of Merit”. Typically at an ACS Meeting, there are more than two thousand undergraduate poster presentations and just 8-10% earn certificates.

The Wesley College directed undergraduate research program in chemistry is sponsored through the DE-NIH-NIGMS-INBRE grant (2 P2O RR016472-12), the DE-NSF-EPSCoR grant (EPS-0814251), and an NSF-ARI-R2 grant (0960503). Melissa Earley, Aaron Givens, and Gabriel Fernandez-Bueno, received additional funding through a NASA Space Grant scholarship-program from the Delaware Space Grant Consortium.