Quick Links

Wesley College Chapter of Psi Chi Inducts New Students

Posted November 8th, 2017 at 2:30pm
Ware, Summer, Spinner, Evans, Crawley and Chambers standing with diplomas

pictured (left to right); Ware, Summer, Spinner, Evans, Crawley and Chambers

Wesley College’s Psi Chi Induction Ceremony, held on Tuesday, November 7, welcomed six new members to the International Honor Society in Psychology.

The society is a professional organization that encourages excellence in the science and application of psychology, and promotes networking with like-minded psychology students and faculty.

Membership in Wesley’s Psi Chi chapter is open to students who are majoring or minoring in psychology. The requirements to become a member include: completing at least three semesters of full-time college coursework, completing at least nine semester credit hours of psychology courses, earning a cumulative GPA that is in the top 35% of the class, and maintaining a minimum 3.0 GPA average for psychology courses.

Benefits of becoming a member of Psi Chi include having the opportunity to participate in numerous community service activities such as the Veterans Day Donation Drive, conduct psychological research with faculty mentors, and attend and present their work at regional and national psychological conferences.

Wesley’s Assistant Professors of Psychology, Dr. Albee Mendoza and Dr. Mary Jenson, host campus-wide events such as the Psychology Alumni and Graduate School Panel as well.

“This annual induction ceremony allows the Department of Psychology to formally recognize the dedicated and highly-qualified students that are deserving of this honor,” said Dr. Mendoza. “We are excited to include these new members into the society.”

The new inductees are as follows: Zierra Chambers, Azana-Tatjana Crawley, Jasmin Evans, Dacey Spinner, Sabrina Sumner, and Ciarra Ware.

Current members of Psi Chi are: Kaitlin Forestieri (President), Marquita Dickerson-Frisby (Vice President), Kyndal Showell (Treasurer), Shelby Segars (Secretary), Destynee Roberts (Event Coordinator), Luis Arteaga, Sydney Brauer, Brelyn Jones, Ayowunmi Kuforiji, and Elizabeth Martin.

To see more photos visit Wesley’s flickr site.